Contact the IDT National Office

+27 (0) 12 845 2000 +27 (0) 12 348 0939

We are responsible for delivering social infrastructure and social development programme management services on behalf of government. The social infrastructure programmes we deliver include public schools, clinics, community centres, government offices and these are predominantly in rural communities in the nine provinces of South Africa.

The Expanded Public Works Programme (EPWP) was launched in 2004 by the Department of Public Works and is aimed at providing work opportunities, income support and unemployment through the use of labour intensive delivery of public and community assets and services thereby contributing to sustainable development. EPWP provides an important avenue for labour absorption and income transfers to indigent households in the short to medium-term. Community members are afforded an opportunity to partake in meaningful economic activities on a temporary or on-going basis through public-sector funded projects under the Ministerial Conditions of Employment for the EPWP conditions.  The EPWP has four sectors, namely infrastructure, non-state sector, environment, and culture and social.

The EPWP phase 3 was launched in 2014 in the Eastern Cape by the President of the Republic of South Africa. This phase of the programme aims to create 6 million work opportunities over the next 5 years.

The role of the IDT in the EPWP phase 3 is to provide programme management support for the EPWP phase 3, supporting Infrastructure Delivery at provincial and municipal level which includes social facilitation and community awareness, supporting the Environment and Culture sector, providing technical support to the Social Sector and providing data management and monitoring and evaluation services for the whole phase 3 of the EPWP.


EPWP logo