Contact the IDT National Office

+27 (0) 12 845 2000 +27 (0) 12 348 0939

We are responsible for delivering social infrastructure and social development programme management services on behalf of government. The social infrastructure programmes we deliver include public schools, clinics, community centres, government offices and these are predominantly in rural communities in the nine provinces of South Africa.

The Working for Water (WfW) Programme of the Department of Water and Sanitation (DWS) provides a sustainable and reliable rehabilitation and restoration initiative. The programme aims to enhance water security, biological diversity, the ecological functioning of natural systems, the productive use of land and to reduce the intensities of fires and floods.The WfW Programme also intends to contribute to economic empowerment and transformation through labour-intensive and social-development initiatives which have a marked impact on employment opportunities and skills development.


The Rainwater Harvesting Programme involves installation of water tanks in specified KwaZulu-Natal communities in order to collect rain water in a sustainable manner.  This programme is aimed at preserving and providing much needed water resources in the communities.


The Greening Limpopo Programme focuses on the planting of trees and drilling of boreholes in identified communities. Boreholes have been drilled in the following areas:  Phalaborwa (under the Phalaborwa Municipality), Moroke (under the Tubatse Municipality), Marulaneng (under the Fetakgomo Municipality) and Masetlaneng/ Koringkoppies (under the Makhuduthamaga Municipality.


Operation Vuselela Programme was initiated by the Departments of Defence and Military Veterans. The programme aims to rehabilitate and restore the Department of Defence land that is infested by invasive alien flora species that harms the ecological integrity and any potential for suitable productive use of such land. The programme participants are the military veterans of former liberation movements of Umkhonto weSizwe (MK), Azanian People’s Liberation Army (APLA) and Azanian National Liberation Army (AZANLA).  Projects have been implemented in all provinces.