Contact the IDT National Office

+27 (0) 12 845 2000 +27 (0) 12 348 0939

We are responsible for delivering social infrastructure and social development programme management services on behalf of government. The social infrastructure programmes we deliver include public schools, clinics, community centres, government offices and these are predominantly in rural communities in the nine provinces of South Africa.

The IDT derives its mandate from Government through the Shareholder Compact, which is signed on an annual basis. The IDT reports to the Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure, who is the Shareholder Representative and Executive Authority.


Honourable Ms Patricia De Lille (MP)

Current Positions

Patricia de Lille is the Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure of the Republic of South Africa from 30 May 2019.

She is currently the leader of the political party Good. She is a Member of Parliament of the Republic of South Africa.

Career/Positions/Memberships/Other Activities

Western Cape Provincial Minister of Social Development from 2010 to 2011.  De Lille was selected as the DA’s mayoral candidate in Cape Town, ahead of the 2011 local government elections, where she was elected mayor. She was re-elected to a second term as mayor in the 2016 local government elections, served until 2018.

She resigned as mayor and terminated her DA party membership on 31 October 2018. From 2015 to 2017, she was Provincial Leader of the Democratic Alliance in the Western Cape.

In 1989, De Lille was elected onto the National Executive Committee of the Pan Africanist Movement (PAM). She led a delegation in the constitutional negotiations that preceded South Africa’s first democratic election in 1994, and following her election as a Pan Africanist Congress (PAC) MP, she was appointed as Chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee on Transport from 1994 to 1999.

She also served on various portfolio Committees including Health, Minerals and Energy, Trade and Industry, Communications, the Rules Committee and the Code of Ethics.